A meeting of delegates from district cricket clubs was held at the Federal hall, Box Hill, on Wednesday evening, to make arrangements for the "Reporter" district cricket competition. Mr E. F. G. Hodges presided, and the following delegates were present:- Messers H. Kent and A. Gibbs (Surrey Hills), H. Clay and J. Plumb (Doncaster), J. Cronan and A. Crouch (Doncaster Heights), J. Albon and H. Sheehan (Box Hill), C. Game (Blackburn), S. Mackie and H. Swan (Canterbury), F. Bate and T. Gittus (St Barnabas), Carrick and Danks (Canterbury Methodists), Dillon and Rhodes (Templestowe), F. Matters (Mitcham), Fankhauser and H. Tainton (E. Burwood), and R. Speers and J. Kruse (Warrandyte). After a considerable discussion, it was decided not to include Warrandyte in the competition, on account of the difficulty for clubs to get to Warrandyte. Mr Hodges was elected president, and Mr C. Game, hon. secretary and treasurer. A hearty vote of thanks was passed to the retiring secretary, Mr J. Albon. The matches will commence on Saturday, October 8, and the following is the draw for the first matches:-

Doncaster v. Mitcham
Canterbury v. Doncaster Heights
Box Hill v. Surrey Hills

Blackburn v. Templestowe
East Burwood v. St Barnabas
Canterbury Methodists, bye

Source:  The Reporter, Friday, September 25, 1908.


Will the real "Doody" please step forward?

Here's a bit of off-season trivia to exercise the 'grey-matter' now that finals are over. Which of our esteemed Life Members is featured in the accompanying Read more

Keep your MyCricket profile current

Make sure that you have a MyCricket Participant Login so you can keep your own profile details current. Also check that you have only one MyCricket ID Read more

Past Records Sought for Club's 75th Anniversary in 2022/23

2022/23 will be our Club's 75th season of formal operation after being constituted as "Meadow Cricket Club" during a meeting held at the home of Percy Read more

Early Database Expanded to 1970/71

Many will recall that a couple of years ago we published a data-base of player stats from the club's first 17 seasons (1948/49 through 1964/65) . You Read more


DIAMOND JUBILEE (75yrs). As part of our advance preparations for the Club's 75th Anniversary celebrations during season 2022/23, we will henceforth feature Read more

Our Website & Social Media (Facebook)

Most of the Club's information is published via the internet so make sure you are not only a regular visitor to this, our main website , but also use Read more


In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was 'cricket', and the Word was good! An answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything Read more

Legends of Local Sport

At the Annual General Meeting held Wednesday 7 August 1968 Blackburn North CC (formerly Meadow CC) elected its first two Life Members. Len Toogood, Don Read more

Blackburn North CC featured by The Heritage Network

As part of their "Community Sports Heritage Project" The Heritage Network has selected Blackburn North CC to feature during June 2015. This is in recognition Read more


Annual General Mtg from 1:00pm Sun 7 July 2019
The 2018/19 Annual General Meeting of Blackburn North Cricket Club In...
71st Anniversary Dinner
  Details coming soon ... Put the date in your diary     Fr...